The University of Arizona
Provost Rotating Images Rotating Images Provost Provost

Contact Information


North Central Association Steering Committee 2010

Paul Allvin
No longer with The University of Arizona
Michael Bruck
Assistant Director, Research Computing

520-621-2684
mbruck@u.arizona.edu
Gail Burd
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, The Office of the Executive Vice President & Provost

520-621-0202
gburd@email.arizona.edu
Cori Cashen
Assistant Registrar

520-621-0976
ccashen@email.arizona.edu
Ferlin Clark
President, Diné College

928-744-6670
fclark@email.arizona.edu
Richard Eribes
Assistant Vice President for Planning and Development - Term ended June, 2009

520-621-4410
eribes@email.arizona.edu
Celestino Fernandez
University Distinguished Outreach Professor, Department of Sociology

520-621-3531
celestino@arizona.edu
Karen Francis-Begay
Special Advisor to the PResident, President's Office

520-621-9809
kfbegay@email.arizona.edu
Juan Garcia
Vice President for Instruction, The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost,
Dean of the University College

520-621-5066
jugarcia@email.arizona.edu
Wyllstyne Hill
Vice President, Information Technology, Raytheon Missile Systems

520-794-8861
wdhill@raytheon.com
Wanda Howell
Chair of Faculty,
University Distinguished Professor, Nutrutional Sciences

520-621-1619
whhowell@ag.arizona.edu
Ashley Hyne
Undergraduate Student, Honors College, Eller College of Management

224-392-2379
ahyne@email.arizona.edu
James Johnson
Graduate Student, Optical Sciences

520-621-7302
jbj@email.arizona.edu
Miranda Joseph
Chair, Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee
Associate Professor, Department of Women's Studies

520-621-5839
mirandaj@email.arizona.edu
Steve Lynn
Vice President, Tucson Electric and Power Company

520-884-3629
slynn@tep.com
Ron Marx
Dean, College of Education

520-621-1081
ronmarx@email.arizona.edu
Stephen MacCarthy
Vice President, External Relations

520-621-4608
maccarthy@ariizona.edu
Bob McLendon
Regent, Arizona Board of Regents

928-783-8950
mclendon@q.com
Suzanne Miles
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, Pima Community College

520-206-4999
smiles@pima.edu
Liz Rodriguez Miller
Past Chair, Hispanic Advisory Board to President Shelton

520-780-6968
lizrmiller@cox.net
Richard Miranda
Assistant City Manager, City of Tucson

520-791-4204
richard.miranda@tucsonaz.gov
Jacqueline Mok
Vice President and Chief of Staff, Office of the President

520-621-5902
jlmok@email.arizona.edu
Jack C. Mutchler
Chair, Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee
Associate Professor, UA South

520-626-2422
mutchler@ariizona.edu
Michael Proctor
Senior Associate Vice President, Outreach and International Programs
Dean, Outreach College

520-621-7687
mproctor@cals.arizona.edu
Raji S.A. Rhys
Special Advisor to the President, Diversity and Inclusion, Office of the President

520-626-5502
rhys@ariizona.edu
Joaquin Ruiz
Executive Dean, College of Letters, Arts and Science
Dean, College of Science

520-621-4090
jruiz@geo.arizona.edu
Robert Smith
Acting Senior Vice President, Business Affairs
Associate Vice President, Planning, Design & Construction

520-626-5668
rrsmith@u.arizona.edu
Leslie Tolbert
Vice President for Research, Graduate Studies and Economic Development

520-621-3513
tolbert@email.arizona.edu
Ted Tong
Associate Dean, College of Pharmacy

520-621-1587
tong@pharmacy.arizona.du
Melissa Vito
Vice President for Student Affairs

520-621-0963
mmvito@email.arizona.edu

Back to top


Executive Support Team

Ed Frisch
Ed Frisch
Associate Vice President
The Office of the Executive Vice President & Provost

520-621-7766
frisch@email.arizona.edu
Rick Kroc
Rick Kroc
Associate Vice Provost, Office of Institutional Research & Planning Support

520-621-8541
kroc@email.arizona.edu
Beth Mitchneck
Beth Mitchneck
Associate Dean, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

520-621-8212
bethm@sbs.arizona.edu
Mary Raphael
Mary Raphael
Coordinator, Academic Planning; NCA Liason

520-621-5901
raphael@email.arizona.edu
Randy Richardson
Randy Richardson
Professor, Department of Geosciences

520-621-4950
rmr@email.arizona.edu
Sue Robison
Program Coordinator Senior, Academic Affairs

520-621-6701
robisons@email.arizona.edu
Guillermo Uribe
Assistant Director, Office of Institutional Research & Planning Support

520-621-5674
omsaret@email.arizona.edu

Back to top


Working Team 1: Mission and Integrity

Cindy Rankin
Cindy Rankin - Working Team Chair
Research Integrity Officer, Vice President for Research Office
Lecturer, Department of Physiology

520-621-3104
crankin@email.arizona.edu
Marie Chisholm-Burns - Working Team Co-Chair
Department Head, Department of Pharmacy, Practice and Science

520-621-2298
chisholm@pharmacy.arizona.edu
Norma Mendoza-Denton - Working Team Co-Chair
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and Linguistics

520-621-6295
nmd@email.arizona.edu
Jennifer Jenkins - Working Team Chair (Term ended January 2009)
Associate Professor, School of Media Arts - Term Ended June, 2009

520-621-2446
jenkinsj@email.arizona.edu
Charles Mackin
Undergraduate Student, Honors College, Department of Electrical Engineering

mackin@email.arizona.edu
Margy McGonagill
Community Member, Neuro and Alzheimer's Interests

margymcgonagill@comcast.net
Jeff Milem
Associate Dean, College of Education

520-621-4931
jmilem@email.arizona.edu
Robert Mitchell
Interim Associate Dean, Main Library

520-307-2782
mitchellr@u.library.arizona.edu
Veronica Peralta
Business Manager, Department of Mexican American Studies

520-621-8139
vperalta@email.arizona.edu
Carla Stoffle
Dean, The University of Arizona Libraries

520-621-2101
stofflec@u.library.edu
Frank Zizza
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona South

520-458-8278 ext. 2161 (committee service: 09/01/09 until 5/15/09)
zizza@email.arizona.edu

Back to top


Working Team 2: Preparing for the Future

Soyeon Shim
Soyeon Shim - Working Team Chair
Professor, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences

520-621-7147
shim@cals.arizona.edu
Jerzy Rozenblit
Jerzy Rozenblit - Working Team Co-Chair
Raymond J. Oglethorpe Endowed Professor and Head, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor of Surgery, College of Medicine

520-621-6177
jr@ece.arizona.edu
Karen Francis Begay
Special Advisor to the President, President's Office

520-621-9809
kfbegay@email.arizona.edu
Walter Doyle
Professor, Department of Teacher Education

520-621-7892
wdoyle@email.arizona.edu
Richard Eribes
Assistant Vice President for Planning and Development Campus and Facilities Planning - Term ended June, 2009

520-621-4410
eribes@email.arizona.edu
Peter Foley
Associate Professor, Department of Religious Studies

520-621-1751
pfoley@email.arizona.edu
JP (John Paul) Jones
Department Head, Department of Geography and Regional Development

520-621-1652
jpjones@email.arizona.edu
Miranda Joseph
Chair, Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee
Associate Professor, Department of Women's Studies

520-621-5839
mirandaj@email.arizona.edu
Lisa Lovallo
Vice President and System Manager, Cox Cable

520-867-7480
lisa.lovallo@cox.com
Fernando Martinez
Professor, College of Medicine

520-621-6387
fernando@arc.arizona.edu
Jeffrey Ratje
Assistant Fiscal Analyst, Budget Office

520-621-3725
jmratje@email.arizona.edu
Edward Reid
Professor, School of Music

520-621-1348
ereid@email.arizona.edu
Pete Reiners
Associate Professor, Department of Geosciences

520-621-2236
reiners@email.arizona.edu
Robert Smith
Vice President, Facilities Design and Construction

520-626-5668
rrsmith@u.arizona.edu

Back to top


Working Team 3A: Student-Centered Experience in the Classroom and Beyond

William McCallum
William McCallum - Working Team Chair
Distinguished Professor, Department of Mathematics
Department Head, Department of Mathematics

520-621-1186
wgmccall@email.arizona.edu
Lynette Cook-Francis
Lynette Cook-Francis - Working Team Co-Chair
Assistant Vice-President for Student Affairs

520-621-3772
lynettec@email.arizona.edu
Jeanne Pemberton
Jeanne Pemberton - Working Team Co-Chair
Regents' Professor, Department of Chemistry

520-621-8245
pembertn@email.arizona.edu
Carol Bender
Program Director, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology

520-621-9348
bender@email.arizona.edu
Laura Berry
Associate Dean, Honors College

520-621-6901
berry@email.arizona.edu
Paul Blowers
Associate Professor, Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

520-621-5319
blowers@engr.arizona.edu
Amanda Brobbel
Interim Associate Director, Residence Education, Graduate College

520-621-9714
brobbel@email.arizona.edu
Andrew Carnie
Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics

520-621-2802
carnie@email.arizona.edu
Roxie Catts
Director, Advising Resource Center, Vice President for Instruction

520-621-8667
catts@email.arizona.edu
Carina Groves
Honors Student, School of Music

cgroves@email.arizona.edu
Dianne Horgan
Associate Dean, Graduate College

520-621-9223
dhorgan@grad.arizona.edu
Gwen Johnson
Director of Assessment, Office of Institutional Research and Planning Support

520-621-7726
gwj@email.arizona.edu
Kevin Moynahan
Associate Professor, College of Medicine

520-621-6505
moynahan@email.arizona.edu
Michael Proctor
Senior Associate Vice President, Outreach and International Programs
Dean, Outreach College

520-621-7687
mproctor@cals.arizona.edu
Angelica Villarreul
Community Member, The University of Arizona Parents' Asociation

angelica2g@comcast.net

Back to top


Working Team 3A: Consultants

Ann Betteridge
Associate Professor, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

520-621-5450
anneb@email.arizona.edu
Paula Fan
Regents' Professor, School of Music

520-621-9881
fanp@u.arizona.edu
Bill Fee
Director, Transfer Curriculum and Articulation, Office of Vice President for Instruction

520-621-4464
wfee@email.arizona.edu
Susan Knight
Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Journalism

520-621-3191
smknight@email.arizona.edu
Paul Kohn
Vice Provost, Vice Provost Enrollment Management

520-621-3705
kohn@email.arizona.edu
Sue Kroeger
Director, Disability Resource Center

520-621-7674
suek@email.arizona.edu
Suzanne Miles
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, Pima Community College

520-206-4999
smiles@pima.edu
Raji Rhys
Assistant Director, Diversity Resource Office

520-621-8676
rhys@email.arizona.edu
Terri Riffe
Director, University Teaching Center

520-621-7788
riffe@email.arizona.edu
Colette Sims
Research Associate, Department of Family and Community Medine

520-621-2207
csims@email.arizona.edu
Jerry Swanson
Professor, Department of Economics

520-621-6220
swansong@email.arizona.edu

Back to top


Working Team 3B: Engagement and Service

Linda Houtkooper
Linda Houtkooper - Working Team Chair
Professor, Nutritional Sciences
Associate Director, Cooperative Extension

520-621-7205
houtkoop@email.arizona.edu
Kevin Gosner
Kevin Gosner - Working Team Co-Chair
Associate Professor, Department of History

520-621-1168
kgosner@email.arizona.edu
Diane Austin
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

520-621-3879
daustin@email.arizona.edu
Cynthia Hansen
Community Member, President of Board of Directors of Ballet Tucson

Travis Huxman
Director, Biosphere 2

520-621-8220
huxman@email.arizona.edu
Bruce Johnson
Department Head, Teacher Education

520-621-7379
brucej@email.arizona.edu
Ana Maria Lopez
Associate Dean, Outreach and Multicultural Affairs, College of Medicine

520-621-7383
alopez@azcc.arizona.edu
Sharon Megdal
Professor, Department of Water Resources

520-792-9591
smegdal@cals.arizona.edu
Nina Ossanna
Director Business Development and Strategic Planning/Senior Licensing Associate, Office of Technology Transfer

520-626-1577
nossanna@arizona.edu
Monique Rios
Undergraduate Student, Honors College, Eller College of Management

520-621-2505
mrios@email.arizona.edu
Doug Taren
Associate Dean, Public Health Administration

520-621-8375
taren@email.arizona.edu
Robert Williams
Professor, College of Law

520-621-5622
williams@law.arizona.edu

Back to top


Working Team 3C: Creativity and Knowledge Discovery

Lisa Ordóñez
Lisa Ordóñez - Working Team Chair
Professor, Department of Management and Organizations

520-621-7474
lordonez@email.arizona.edu
Neal Armstrong
Neal Armstrong - Working Team Co-Chair
Professor, Department of Chemistry - Term ended June, 2009

520-621-8242
nca@email.arizona.edu
Raina Maier - Working Team Co-Chair
Professor, Soil, Water and Environmental Science

520-621-7231
rmaier@ag.arizona.edu
Ellen McMahon - Working Team Co-Chair
Associate Professor, School of Art

520-621-1493
emcmahon@email.arizona.edu
Scott Eliason
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

520-621-3531
seliason@email.arizona.edu
Caroline Garcia
Assistant Vice President, Vice President for Research Office

520-621-3900
cgarcia@email.arizona.edu
Francisco Garcia
Clinical Associate Professor, College of Medicine

520-621-8539
fcisco@email.arizona.edu
Lisa Graumlich
Professor, School of Natural Resources

520-621-7257
lisag@cals.arizona.edu
Tamarak Little
Solar Representative, Gabrielle Gifford's Office

520-881-3588
Tsianina Lomawaima
Professor, American Indian Studies

520-621-9772
lomawaim@email.arizona.edu
Marcia Rieke
Professor, Department of Astronomy

520-621-2731
mrieke@as.arizona.edu
Karen Seat
Associate Professor, Religious Studies Program

520-621-7032
kkseat@u.arizona.edu
David Sommitz
Undergraduate Student, Honors College, Optical Sciences

sommitz@email.arizoan.edu

The University of Arizona